Impulsive. #OneWord2012

After reading others’ #OneWord2012 posts from Twitter, I have decided to jump on the bandwagon myself.

While it took me awhile to settle on a specific word, I knew right away what goal I had in mind. Since I harbor on word choice/meaning so much, I decided I needed something very straightforward. I’ll be more likely to hold myself to it.

Impulsive. Oh, how I am so far from this.

I’ve realized recently that I, simply put, have a control problem. I think, and rethink, over and over again until I’ve pulverized my thoughts with a blunt object. By the time I let it go – for that night – I’ve imagined every scenario and “what-if” I can think of, created plan B, C, sometimes D. I’m left overwhelmed and frustrated, with no ‘real’ solution.

I can’t plan everything. I don’t have control of a lot of things (which sucks). As much as I want to know what is going to happen, I just can’t. I need to worry less, go with the flow, be more impulsive.

Baby steps. Maybe I’ll take a trip somewhere without planning (much). Or perhaps I’ll let someone else plan it. I’ll probably need to distract myself in order for this to work, but since I’ve got so much on my plate this semester, that shouldn’t be a problem. šŸ™‚

Point being, I can’t live my life in the future. Today is what matters. By spending all my time planning for what’s to come, I’m missing out on the here and now.

Time to add a little impulsiveness to my daily routine. šŸ˜‰

About justinetozer

Iā€™m a writer who seldom writes anything other than e-mails, to-do lists, and thank you cards. When I do post on here, I write to clarify my thoughts, reflect, share, and learn. Since Iā€™m a bit of a Type A personality, most posts will be related to work: Residence Life/Student Affairs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

