This I Believe.

There’s a really cool international organization that is based on a program done by a radio station back in the 1950s. It asks people about the belief that guides their daily lives. Check out more here: http://thisibelieve.org/

Here’s mine.

I believe in words.

I believe in the power of words and the affect they can have on people. So many kids, after being hurt by what someone said to them, are taught the saying “sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me.” Those words, though they come from a good place, well they lie. Words can be hurtful. Words are powerful.

But words can also be empowering. Like the saying those kids are taught.  Though perhaps inaccurate, those words stick with you. They are a reminder not to let others get you down. “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can never hurt me.” It’s a reminder of the power you have over your emotional well-being. If you run over me with a car, I’m going to be physically hurt. Once run over, I can’t stop the physical wounds. If you say something insulting, derogatory, and mean to me I will probably be hurt. But I can control how much it hurts me. I can control those wounds. Its proof that words can be used to make someone feel better, that your words matter too. For if someone else can use words to bring you down, you can use words to bring yourself and others up. We all do it. When a friend calls and needs someone to tell them it will be okay. When we walk into an interview repeating to ourselves, “you can do this.”

Words are an expression of feelings; a way to demonstrate to others what’s in your mind. They can be enlightening.  They can start movements. They can start wars. They can begin relationships, and they also end them.

They can’t do anything if you don’t let them out. I believe in speaking your words, in telling others what’s on your mind and being open to hearing what words are in others’ minds.  For if your words matter and your words can influence others, shouldn’t other people’s words matter too? Shouldn’t you be open to hearing others’ words?

I believe in the power of words. I believe in using their power wisely.

About justinetozer

I’m a writer who seldom writes anything other than e-mails, to-do lists, and thank you cards. When I do post on here, I write to clarify my thoughts, reflect, share, and learn. Since I’m a bit of a Type A personality, most posts will be related to work: Residence Life/Student Affairs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

